Book Review

Book Review: Gemina

Wow. This book was crazy. I want to say it was just as crazy as Illuminae. But it wasn't. It was even freaking crazier. But I'm not sure that that is necessarily a good. thing.

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 10.54.29 PM.png

Gemina

Read: July 28th

Rating: Four stars

synopsis1

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminaecontinues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

My Review

So…Amie Kaufman's other series, Starbound or whatever, was the most okay series I have ever read. Why, you ask? Because each book in the series abandons the previous characters and starts with two new characters. A guy and a girl. Who go through all these crazy trials together and just fall into each other's arms by the end of the book. The main story line gets all convoluted and unorganized as you shift from these different perspectives. In that story I was so confused as to how this new couple's story applied to the overall premise of the series and it was so overly romantic…I found myself skimming through the last book in the series. Because each book was a new love story that was so predictable it made the story not enjoyable. Could we not have followed the same characters through the entire series?!

I was really hoping that Gemina wasn't going to be like this because I knew going into it that we were going to have all new characters…And I will say that it was…not…kinda. I don't know. I really really enjoyed Gemina and I think the romantic elements to this story bugged me slightly because I kept comparing it to the underwhelming Starbound series. I just was thinking, "Amie, haven't we done this already?" So that is why this book gets four stars instead of five.

Things I liked

  • Nik! Call me crazy, but I love a good drug dealer in my books
  • The banter in this book was so awesome. I loved all of the chat conversation because they weren't all super flirty and confessions of undying love, but they were funny and snarky.
  • Ella. Who is this girl? Can we just have a book about Ella? I would read that crap!
  • There are weird worm creatures that grow inside cow's heads. They are scary and creepy and I love them. *shivers* They seriously give me the heebee geebees.
  • This is a survival story. I loved the idea of these characters hiding in the ship and being scared out of their minds and hunted the whole time! I didn't know that that was the premise of this story and it made it so thrilling to read!
  • The violence. Is that bad that I enjoyed the violence? I really enjoyed the violence in this book.

Things I did not like

  • No spoilers. But! There is something that happens. And then something else happens. And these two happenings were very frustrating for me because I wish that the one thing had just happened and Amie had just left well enough alone and stuck with her story line and didn't make another weird ass thing happen! Because seriously…what the hell is that explanation as to what happened!?!
  • Also I'm still confused as to what Illuminae is…please explain it more thoroughly to me.

My final thoughts

Thanks for reading my review! I hope you enjoyed it. Please share your thoughts if you read this book because I am dyyyiinng to hear what you guys think!

Signature

12 thoughts on “Book Review: Gemina”

  1. *Screams into the void* OMG I LOVE ELLA SO MUCCHHHH!

    KINDA SPOILERS AHEAD! DON’T SAY I DIDN’T WARN YOU 🙂

    I really liked Gemina but it seemed that my issues wth Illuminae that I had just brushed off as fine, came back and started to annoy me… I wasn’t the biggest fan of the romance… I don’t see why Nik and Hanna had to fall in love… why couldn’t other character and Hanna have been a thing… I’m glad other character got a redemption arch bc I really kinda liked him… and I think he cared for Hanna.
    Also! That thing that happened towards the end… how she retconed it to make things tie up nicer… idk I like weird SCIFI sometimes (I watch The Flash and that’s all about multiverses) but this just felt like a plot device to give things a happy ending… idk I really like these books but I’d love them more if the author had the guts to kill off her mains…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed!!!! She did the same romance thing in Starbound and it annoyed me so much that we introduce new characters that HAVE to fall in love in the book. I mainly overlooked it in this book because the romance wasn’t too over the top for me.

      But ommggg that thing that happened at the end annoyed me so much!!!! Like, “oh let me throw this random piece of sci-fi info you didn’t expect so we could have a great ending” *EYEROLL INTO OBLIVION* I agree 100%. Just stick to your guns Amie! I liked it more when she didn’t pull that crap at the end. What did I tell you?!?! I knew Amie was gonna bring him back! So. Stupid. But the worms and the survival outweighed it for me so I still really liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah what sucks is now I’m not gonna let myself be too upset if a main dies bc I know they aren’t actually dead… AND I can expect the two mains to fall in love no matter what… this makes me a million times less excited for book 3 now that I’m thinking about it…

        Oh and this chat made me realize I was WAYYY too nice on that ending in my Gemina review… I went back and changed some things before that review comes out 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exactly!!!!! This kind of thing is what I expect from Amie Kaufman because the EXACT SAME THING HAPPENS IN STARBOUND!!!!!! Not to give it away. BUT THE EXACT SAME THING HAPPENS IN STARBOUND!!!!!

        Can’t wait to read your review!!!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not sure if I liked Gemina more in comparison to Illuminae honestly. There were things I liked more about Gemina and things I liked less. I think it balanced out and made me feel the same about both books haha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved the banter too, and the relationship between them worked for me a little more than Kady and Ezra’s in the first one (maybe because they seemed more flirtsnarky in this one- I know that’s not a word) but yeah. And Ella- absolutely awesome lol. I was really worried about her there for a while!

    The creatures here were WAY scarier than the xombs in Illuminae, I thought. Creepy as %^&&. And I LOVED how the strike team members were X’d out as they died. That cracked me up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I a million percent agree with the flirtsnarks (not a word) of Nik and Wazzhername vs Kady and Ezra. Kady and Ezra were already in love so it wasn’t even a romance. I still like those characters, but I need some banter up in these books!

      Okay I LOVED the Xs too!! It help me keep track of who was left and I was always counting down 😂😂😂

      Like

Leave a Reply

