Book Review

Book Review: One of Us is Lying

Screen Shot 2017-07-31 at 2.04.36 PM.png

One of Us is Lying

Read: July 29-30th

Rating: 4 Stars

synopsis1

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.

Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.

Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.

Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.

Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.

And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon's dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

My Review

I wouldn't normally go for a book like this, but I read a lot of really great reviews and I just recently finished Riverdale…so I felt like I would give this one a try and I really enjoyed it! I figured I would guess what happened pretty early on but it was much much later in the book before it all started to make sense.

Things I liked

  • I really liked how Simon died. And I know that sounds really weird, but I when I heard that he had been murdered, I assumed that it would be in one of your classic ways. But it was so creative and the steps that were taken was just so original and I was instantly sucked in because of how he died!
  • I liked all of the characters. Telling from four different POVs can be challenging to read because each character has to have their own voice and also be likeable. And I could tell the difference between each character (for the most part) and I liked them all!
  • I didn't want any of them to have done it! I was so sucked into the story and liked them all and I was genuinely concerned for all the characters the whole time.
  • This book reminded me a lot of Riverdale. High school students doing an investigation that makes you wonder…what the eff are the police doing…?? Did they really not consider looking into any of the stuff y'all are looking into? How do they solve anything ever? Maybe that isn't a like or a dislike. Just a thought.
  • I liked how the story developed. Each person is lying and I was so scared to find out what all their secrets were! Ah!

 

Things I did not like

Can't say. Too many spoilers. Just know that there were some things I didn't like about this book!

My final thoughts

I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for some thrilling reading but not so dark and serious. Four stars!

Has anyone else read this and willing to share some of their spoilery thoughts with me!?

Signature

 

9 thoughts on “Book Review: One of Us is Lying”

    1. Thanks! I usually only read sci fi fantasy type books. So it has to really engage me for me to even consider picking it up! But I really liked this one! Except for some spoiler things I can’t say! Ahhhrreahhggghh!

      And I’ll totally check out your blog ☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

