top five tuesday

Top Five Tuesday: Top Buzzwords that make me WANT to read a book

Top Five Tuesdaaaay! Weeeee! Always so much fun, and as always, check out Bionic Book Worm’s post because she’s just the coolest!

The prompt

Top five buzzwords that make me want to read a book.

Ah! I have to admit I’m intimidated by this!

So my main genre that I love is YA Fantasy with some Sci Fi, dystopian, some romance, some contemporary, so I’m gonna go with some buzzwords that apply to the genre that I already love.

Magic

This word in an of itself already have my interest. When this word is combined with any of the following I’m totally in:

  • Perilous
  • Blood
  • Mysterious
  • Haunting
  • Ancient
  • Terrible
  • Evil
  • Brutal
  • Sandwich (I have yet to find a book about sandwich magic, but I would be totally down for this. Imagine! Being able to perform magical spells after you eat  sandwiches…I think I’m on to something…)

Magic is a huge interest for me because it’s not real and I love being swept up in the originality of different magic. Think about it. Magic can be systematic and traditional like Harry Potter with spells and wands and all that, or it can be blood magic that is specific to only a few people like Shades of Magic, or it could be magic that you’re born with because of your race/species/creature type/financial status/whatever! Magic is just fun and I love it. Plus when it’s combined with something badass like revenge…oh man. You know it’s gonna be epic.

Kill/Murder/Promise of violence

Okay I know what you’re thinking. Seriously? Why do you love the violence so much? Um. Are you serious? Violence is one of my fave things about fantasy and dystopian stories! But I can only handle so much of it before the gore becomes to much and I want to cringe and hide in a pantry.

I like my characters to be awesome and fight and be able to defend themselves!

Sacrifice

This can relate to a number of different things. Sacrificing animals to blood magic, MCs making sacrifices in their personal lives for the greater good, sacrificing relationships, money, whatever. I like my characters to really have to go through some drama and question who they are and what the point of their life is and I like them to go through alot of changes. “Sacrifice” speaks that to me.

Funny/humor/comical

On the other side of killing people, blood magic and sacrifice, I also like stories that are funny! Fun adventures with wit and humor and hopefully snarky sarcastic comments. Sounds amazing.

Mention of some kind of awesome creature

I can’t even say specifically what kind of creature this is because there are so many! This can include but not limited to:

  • Fae
  • Warlock
  • Wizard
  • Witc
  • Unicorns
  • Trolls
  • Goblins
  • Elves
  • Bat babies
  • Aliens

I’m not a huge fan of vampires and mermaids. That may seriously be a buzzword that turns me completely off to a book. But I like different creatures and these crazy worlds that they live in! If you can’t tell by this list, fantasy is definitely my favorite hahaha.

My final thoughts

Hope you enjoyed this Top Five Tuesday! What are buzzwords that make you want to read a book?! What are some good ones that I haven’t thought of!

Thanks for reading!

18 thoughts on “Top Five Tuesday: Top Buzzwords that make me WANT to read a book”

  1. YOU INCLUDED BAT BABIES *claps* I’M SO PROUD! (And if you didn’t mention that i sure as heck would’ve pointed it out in the comments XD)
    Honestly, I’m the same with violence. I really like the promise of an action packed novel that I won’t be able to put down
    Something like magic might make me want to pick a book up but it might also make me want to run far away. I’ve been getting into high fantasy more but I used to avoid it like the plague due to the heavy exposition usually included in the plot

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😂😂😂😂😂 I included bat babies just for you!!!!

      Violence is the best. I couldn’t hurt anyone and a cop one time told me that if I was attacked and I tried to fight with a knife I would die by my own blade 😂😂😂 I just like to live vicariously thru these awesome violent people!

      Sometimes magic is awesome and sometimes is so lame so I totally understand!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sandwich magic lol. 🙂 Sounds good to me, that’s a sandwich shop I wanna go to! Perilous and ancient go well with magic I think. Sacrifice and humor- seems weird for me to lump those together, but those are both a great part of a good fantasy as well!

    I love creatures. The fae will usually get my attention, and while I’m not a fan of cuddly mermaids lol I do like mean or vicious ones! Undersea creatures in general get my interest, and unicorns/ goblins/ elves- anything like that with a dark touch or a gritty edge, and I’m in!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha I wasn’t thinking all these words in the same book! But I do go for some funny ya books sometimes. It’s almost like funny is a completely separate thing. Cause it can’t be funny and blood magic and sacrifice and all that 😂

      Are there mean vicious mermaids out there?! I need to get on those books!

      Like

  3. Ahhh I LOVE magic. It’s absolutely wonderful and I never see myself growing out of it. While I can’t handle too graphic violence, I do love awesome battles where the heroes kick-ass 😀 And humour! It’s not a must but it makes a book so much better if there’s some kind of humour in it! I’m not really big on vampires anymore either (they hype from a few years ago kind of ruined them for me haha) but I do still love mermaids haha. I love the other creatures you mentioned too though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

